Vulnerabilities

Vulnerability · CVE-2020-1738

A flaw was found in Ansible Engine when the module package or service is used and the parameter 'use' is not specified.

Published Mar 16, 2020 · catalog updated Jun 17, 2026 · A flaw was found

Last checked Nov 4, 2026. A connected source was read within the last 7 days.

Check if you run it

No confirmed exploitation is on record for CVE-2020-1738. EPSS is 0.40%. Act only if a listed version of A flaw was found is installed.

Gaps on this record

  • The stored product name is a package slug. The name on this page is taken from the title (A flaw was found).
  • No vendor fix or required action is stored. Compare the linked advisory before you change production.

Same product and reporting

Severity
Low3.9
Known exploitation
Not in CISA/VulnCheck KEV
EPSS
0.40%
Remediation
Version ranges on file
Affected products
cpe redhat/ansible · cpe redhat/ansible tower

A flaw was found in Ansible Engine when the module package or service is used and the parameter 'use' is not specified. If a previous task is executed with a malicious user, the module sent can be selected by the attacker using the ansible facts file. All versions in 2.7.x, 2.8.x and 2.9.x branches are believed to be vulnerable.

Are you affected?

Enter the version you run. The result uses only the ranges stored on this record.

The check returns affected, not affected, or incomplete. It does not guess a version that is missing from the record.

  • cpe redhat/ansible<= 2.7.16
  • cpe redhat/ansible>= 2.8.0, <= 2.8.8
  • cpe redhat/ansible>= 2.9.0, <= 2.9.5
  • cpe redhat/ansible tower<= 3.3.4
  • cpe redhat/ansible tower>= 3.3.5, <= 3.4.5
  • cpe redhat/ansible tower>= 3.5.0, <= 3.5.5

How to fix CVE-2020-1738

What to do

Three questions, each answered from this record only. Confirm the vendor advisory before you patch.

Should you patch?

No confirmed exploitation is on record for CVE-2020-1738. EPSS is 0.40%. Act only if a listed version of A flaw was found is installed.

Which versions are affected?

Compare what you have installed with redhat/ansible tower <= 3.3.4; redhat/ansible tower >= 3.3.5, <= 3.4.5; redhat/ansible tower >= 3.5.0, <= 3.5.5. Compare the installed version with the linked vendor advisory before you change production.

What should an analyst verify?

CWE-88. EPSS 0.40%. There is no CISA KEV listing. No Exploit-DB or Metasploit reference is linked. Use the source links for the original advisory.

Technology hubs

Code

The project this record applies to. Exploit listings stay in References.

Timeline

Detection, updates, and resolution for this record.

  1. Mar 16, 2020 · Monitored products — high

    Detected

    A flaw was found in Ansible Engine when the module package or service is used and the parameter 'use' is not specified. If a previous task is executed with a malicious user, the module sent can be selected by the attacker using the ansible facts file. All versions in 2.7.x, 2.8.x and 2.9.x branches are believed to be vulnerable.

  2. Jun 17, 2026 · Monitored products — high

    Updated

    A flaw was found in Ansible Engine when the module package or service is used and the parameter 'use' is not specified. If a previous task is executed with a malicious user, the module sent can be selected by the attacker using the ansible facts file. All versions in 2.7.x, 2.8.x and 2.9.x branches are believed to be vulnerable.

Sources

  • CVE.orgVulnerability recordCVE-2020-1738

    Official CVE identifier

    cve.org
  • FIRST EPSSExploitation probabilityCVE-2020-1738

    30-day exploitation probability 0.40%

    first.org
  • Monitored products — highVendor advisoryCVE-2020-1738

    A flaw was found in Ansible Engine when the module package or service is used and the parameter 'use' is not specified. If a previous task is executed with a malicious user, the module sent can be selected by the attacker using the ansible facts file. All versions in 2.7.x, 2.8.x and 2.9.x branches are believed to be vulnerable.

    nvd.nist.gov

References

Freshness

Last verified in this catalog Nov 3, 2026. Significant claims (KEV, EPSS, CVSS, affected ranges) come from the source rows above — open the original publisher for the authoritative advisory.

  • CVE.orgNov 4, 2026
  • FIRST EPSSNov 3, 2026
  • Monitored products — highNov 2, 2026